Outer Banks, North Carolina
carolina shores logo

SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun


8723A S Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head
Bedrooms: 3Baths: 2 fullSleeps: 8City: Nags HeadArea: Semi-Oceanfront Turn Day: Sat
Check Availability
initMessage('0',''); initButtonMessage('Select Arrival');
<< <
 
 > >>
April 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
       
May 2018
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
       
 Arrival    Departure
to
Reset Dates
  • Property Photo
  • Twelve Month Availability View
SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun
SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun -
SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun SN8723- House Of The Rising Sun
initMessage('0',''); initButtonMessage('Select Arrival');
April 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
       
May 2018
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
       
June 2018
S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
       
July 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
       
August 2018
S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
       
September 2018
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
October 2018
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
       
November 2018
S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
       
December 2018
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
January 2019
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
       
February 2019
S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
       
March 2019
S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Calendar Key
      Unavailable.       Available.
      Depature Only       Arrival Only.
      Call for availability       User Selected Dates
  • General Info
  • Amenities
  • Rates
  • Reviews
  • Q/A
  • Map
Semi-Oceanfront splendor is waiting for you at “House Of The Rising Sun” in South Nags Head.
Views of the ocean and sound along with tempting master suite will lure you closer to attractions such as the Bodie Island Lighthouse, world famous Oregon Inlet Fishing Center and historical Roanoke Island.
Sun and covered decks with furniture will accommodate you wanting to catch up on that novel you’ve been waiting to read, soak up the summer salty air, socialize or simply revel in the views!
Experience convenience of direct beach access and “man’s best friend” is welcome too.
The grill master of the group will appreciate the charcoal grill provided; can’t you just hear the sizzle and smell the hamburgers, hot dogs, steaks and seafood now!

PROPERTY BEDDING: 2 QUEENS, 2 DOUBLES, 1 QUEEN SLEEPER SOFA.

TOP LEVEL:
Kitchen Area,
Dining Area,
Living Room with queen sleeper sofa,
Sun Deck with Views.


MID LEVEL:
Master with Queen with Deck Access,
Full Master Bathroom,
Bedroom with Queen with Deck Access,
Full Hall Bathroom,
Bedroom with 2 Double Beds.


GROUND LEVEL:
Entry,
Laundry Nook with Washer and Dryer.

10% Active/Retired Military Discount, 10% Repeat Renter Discount.

Linens

Guest Linens $130.00 Plus Tax

Amenities

  • Internet Access
  • Washer/Dryer
  • Baby Gate
  • CD Player
  • Charcoal Grill
  • Cookware
  • Digital Cable
  • DVD Player
  • Highspeed Internet Access
  • No Telephone
  • Oven
  • Porta-Crib
  • Semi-Oceanfront
  • Stereo System
  • Toaster
  • Dog Friendly
  • Central A/C
  • Blender
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Coffee Maker
  • Covered Decks
  • Direct Beach Access
  • Full Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
  • Non-Smoking Only
  • Parking for 3 Vehicles
  • Refrigerator
  • Sound View
  • Stove Top Burners
  • VCR
  • Partial Week Rentals (mini vacations)
  • 1 TV
  • Can Opener
  • Central Air and Heat
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Deck Furniture
  • Dishwasher
  • Highchair
  • Microwave
  • Ocean View
  • Partial Weeks (ask about rates)
  • Saturday
  • South Nags Head
  • Sun Decks
  • Washer & Dryer

Security Deposit

$70.00 Accidental Damage Insurance or a $500.00 Refundable Security Deposit

Start Date End Date Weekly Average
01/01/18 04/27/18 $850
04/28/18 05/04/18 $850
05/05/18 05/11/18 $850
05/12/18 05/18/18 $850
05/19/18 05/25/18 $950
05/26/18 06/01/18 $950
06/02/18 06/08/18 $1,395
06/09/18 06/15/18 $1,495
06/16/18 06/22/18 $1,695
06/23/18 06/29/18 $1,695
06/30/18 07/06/18 $1,695
07/07/18 07/13/18 $1,695
07/14/18 07/20/18 $1,695
07/21/18 07/27/18 $1,695
07/28/18 08/03/18 $1,695
08/04/18 08/10/18 $1,695
08/11/18 08/17/18 $1,595
08/18/18 08/24/18 $1,495
08/25/18 08/31/18 $995
09/01/18 09/07/18 $875
09/08/18 09/14/18 $875
09/15/18 09/21/18 $850
09/22/18 09/28/18 $850
09/29/18 10/05/18 $850
10/06/18 10/12/18 $850
10/13/18 12/31/18 $850

View All Reviews

Not the Right Cottage For Us

Priscilla L. from winchester, VA does not recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2017
We are used to staying on the water, we should have picked a more expensive place to rent, but one party thought we should have saved some money, so we did and we were unhappy we did not have a cottage right on the water, so that is not the cottage's fault

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Nags Head vacation

A Guest from Medina, OH recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2017
Very good location and great beach access. Sliding doors are old (one had a latch broken) and no screens. Kitchen eating area really needed patched, sanded, painted and updated.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

House of the Rising Sun

Wanda L. from Saluda, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2016
House of the Rising Sun is very close to the beach with great beach access. The home is outdated but met our needs. The beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms were nice size. We had not planned to go to the OBX this year, but the house fit our needs when we booked it 3 weeks before our vacation.

Manager Response

Dear Wanda, I am so glad to hear that we were able to offer you a refuge from your busy schedule. Thank you for vacationing with Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals this Summer. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Our Stay at the House of the Rising Sun

A Guest from Stockton, MD does not recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2016
If all you care about is a place close to the beach, this place is fine. It is in need of some TLC from the owners though. Deck chairs are broken,a kitchen drawer is broken, and a few kitchen gadgets are not available such as paring knives, vegetable peelers, etc. It appears some of these things have been reported before and have not been fixed. A visit from the owners or someone representing them is recommended to check things out. The location is great. The walk to the beach is very short and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The Outlets are close also. It all depends on what your expectations are.

Manager Response

Dear Randall, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at THE HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN. The shocking part is your report of broken deck chairs. I had personally placed brand new items there on your arrival day. But I will go look at them now. We will also inventory the kitchen supplies to insure there are plenty of vegetable peelers and paring knives for future guests. Thank you so much for reporting this! You were actually the very first guest of the year- yep, that's why you found all new bedding, a brand new deck and new refrigerator too!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Perfect for our needs

Taylor O. from Raleigh, NC recommends this property
Stayed 4 days in Sep, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay here. Unfortunately it we were here for a wedding (during a hurricane near miss) and weren't able to spend quite as much time at the rental and beach as we'd like but the home met all of our needs and expectations. The entry level floor was a little dirty but that could be as expected for a beach house. The only other complaint I have is in regards to the check-in time at 4pm... I couldn't get the keys from the office until then and the home is near 20 minutes away.

Manager Response

Dear Taylor, Thank you for taking the time to review the HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN! Your comments and suggestions do mean much to us and we WILL share them with our senior staff and the homeowner. Please come back and visit with us again!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Good Rental Close to Beach

A Guest from Dover, DE recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2015
Overall, the house was in decent shape and was very close to beach. Only 2 houses between this house and the beach, and it had a partial ocean view. House had 3 decks which was nice. It was a bit dated and had lots of stairs, but plenty of room. The stove was the only unclean area and we had to wash the burner trays before using. There were ants in the kitchen. BRING CLEANING SUPPLIES, TRASH BAGS, HAND SOAP, AND ALL PAPER PRODUCTS. Location was good in relation to gas/stores/restaurants (all within driving distance). This house was located across from the Tanger Outlets. Would stay here again.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Awesome View & Short Walk to the Sand

A Guest from Mechanicsville, VA does not recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2015
The location is perfect. The kitchen was well stocked. The coffee maker broke a couple of days into our trip and the mgt company got us a new one before the next cup of coffee was due. :-)

The master bedroom mattress was horribly uncomfortable. We reported a couple of issues that maintenance was going to look into after our visit. The house could use TLC and some upgrading. It's getting a little worn in/out.

The location, and the fact that we were on vacation, is what made it all worthwhile.

Manager Response

Dear Tammy, Thank you for reviewing HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN! We definitely appreciate your comments and suggestions and will review them with the homeowner immediately. The staff here looks forward to serving you again next summer.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

SN8723 Review

A Guest from Clifton, VA does not recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in May, 2015
Loved the views and how close we were to the beach. The house is really outdated and in need of significant updating. Also, some basic maintenance such as screens in all windows and sliders would make a difference.

Manager Response

Dear Pat, Thank you for taking the time to review HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN! I am sharing your suggestions with the homeowner, this week, and agree more screens should be added. How else can you enjoy the sweet Outer Banks breezes? I am glad you found the property clean and welcoming. The staff at Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals looks forward to serving you when you next visit the Outer Banks.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

wonderful view

Joyce E. from Akron, OH recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2014
WE HAD A WONDERFUL WEEK! FROM THE TIME I CALLED ABOUT THE PLACE UNTIL WE TURNED IN THE KEYS BOBBY JO WAS SO SO SO HELPFUL AND NICE AND JUST THE SWEETEST PERSON WE COULD HAVE DEALT WITH AND I DONT THINK WE WILL EVER DEAL WITH ANY OTHER REALTY CO AGAIN. THE HOUSE NEEDS SOME UPGRADES AND MAINTENANCE BUT OVERALL IT SERVED US AND THE KIDS AND OF COURSE THE DOG PERFECTLY. THE ONLY TWO COMPLAINTS WE HAD WAS THE WALKWAY THAT IS SHOWED IN THE PICTURES ON LINE ARE FOR THE NEXT HOUSE OVER AND THE MATTRESS IN THE MASTER BEDROOM WAS VERY VERY UNCOMFORTABLE!!!! THE FRONT PORCH IN THE LIVING ROOM IS IN NEED OF DIRE REPAIR. WE WOULDNT LET THE KIDS GO OUT THAT DOOR THE BOARDS WERE LOOSE AND SO WAS THE RAILING.THE VIEW IS GREAT AND THE DOLPHINS SWIM BY AT 8;30-9 AM AND AGAIN ABOUT 4;30-5 EVERYDAY. WE ATE AT THE DRUM TWICE,LUNCH WAS BETTER THAN DINNER. WE ALSO ATE AT 'BOBS EAT AND GET THE **** OUT'. WHAT A GREAT PLACE FOR THE BEST AND BIGGEST BREAKFAST YOU COULD ASK FOR. ALSO WE ATE AT 'JIMMYS SEAFOOD BUFFET'. FIRST TIME FOR OUR DAUGHTER AND HER FRIEND TO EAT THERE AND THEY JUST LOVED IT AS MUCH AS WE HAVE COME TO LOVE IT. I THINK IF THE BED WAS MORE COMFORTABLE WE WOULD DEFINETLY STAY THERE AGAIN AS LONG AS WE COULD DEAL WITH BOBBY JO:) WHAT A SUPER PERSON!!!!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

We had a great time!!!

Anna I. from Springfield, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2014
The location is great! The house is spacious, it was clean and what's very important to us- dog friendly and not too expensive. The beach is in one minute walk and so great. There were some minor things wrong like electrical plugs not working and some issues with blinds and an old TV but you don't go to the ocean to watch TV! We had an amazing time and will come again!!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Close to the beach....but needs MAJOR TLC

A Guest from Front Royal, VA does not recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2014
I enjoyed that the home was close to the beach and pet friendly, but it was very overgrown. Vines growing up through the decking and overgrown yards and shrubbery made it impossible to do anything but walk the dog. The recent hurricane left water damage throughout the house. The linoleum was lifting and curling in the kitchen and dining areas, cracks in the ceiling of the 3rd bedroom leading to the overhead fan/light fixture made me concerned enough not to use the fan for fear it would fall on the child using the room. Slats were missing on all the vertical blinds which allowed neighbors only feet away to look in and home smelled of mildew/mold. Rental agency tried to address immediately and owner did offer a small refund.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

“Great location, only 25 steps to the beach, needs updating

Jeff E. from Longmeadow, MA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2014
We had a wonderful vacation. Loved Nags Head. The house was in a great location. Plenty of restaurants and stores close by. The house is the third house from the beach. I counted 25 steps to the beach from the front door which was awesome. The house has a great layout but may not work for everyone. There are a lot of stairs. Second floor is the bedrooms and the top is the living area. The bedrooms were fine. The upstairs... needs to be gutted. The kitchen sucks. It's a very outdated small cramped galley style that smells very old. The kitchen is smack dab in the middle of the upstairs, a big closed off box with one small awkward doorway, the large kitchen farm table is on one side and the living room is on the other. The complete opposite of the open living concept. If it were my place, I would completely open up the entire upstairs. Seriously the place could be fabulous. I would also add a half bath to the top floor. You have to walk down to the second floor to use the bathroom. Yes, the place could use major updating, the decor is more farm than beach, lots of stenciled walls, but it was a great value for a rental. The paint & blinds need to be addressed. 80's style vertical blinds... That have more than half of the individual blinds missing in every window. The house in front of this one rented for $1,000. more a week, and the larger house right next door rents for $10,500. a week!! Its still a great value. We did have one night where we saw multiple "palmetto bugs" in the kitchen. I was freaked at first. We didn't know that there is an ongoing problem in the Outerbanks. All the houses have them. I alerted the office when we left to have them spray the kitchen. We kept ALL the food, chips, paper products, etc. in the refrigerator and left ALL the lights on in the kitchen at night, and took out the trash constantly. Never saw anymore after that. Overall for the price it was perfect. Great vacation!!! We miss the Outer banks already.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

House of the rising sun.

Melissa D. from Richmond, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2014
Nice and close to the beach.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Hurricane Arthur didn't stop us!

A Guest from Bellefontaine, OH recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2014
This house is so close to the beach. We were able to sit on the back deck and watch the waves crash in. The decor was ok. The shower head in the master bath could be changed out due to flow. There was plenty of room in this home. Loved the fact that it had a washer and dryer. Close to activities yet not overly crowded area. I would recommend staying here if you are wanting to spend a lot of time relaxing on the beach. Great getaway.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

We'll be Back!

A Guest from Christiansburg, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in May, 2014
We can hardly wait to return to Nags Head and the Outer Banks. Had a super time. Nice beaches. Nice people. Super restaurants. Thanks OBX!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

owner redue all his blinds, damaged, missing. needs paint job

Chris D. from Severn, MD recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2013
Very peaceful, quiet. Inside rental unit needs a paint job, new blinds. That was depressing. Used to renting pristine properties.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

The Beach

Dave S. from Bridgeport, WV recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2013
Loved the beach experience. The house was nice. We would love a house on the beach and a pool next time.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

House of the Risin Sun

A Guest from Philippi, WV does not recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2013
Beautiful house, nice location. No extras. Kitchen had only necessities, no wifi, bathrooms only on one floor, terrible deck furniture (I had a nasty fall the first day). Lost my ring and called twice. Never got a reply after that. Security deposit kept for a month. Next renters already in property so it was left in excellent condition, still security deposit kept for a month. Would not rent again.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Steps from the beach

Joe B. from Lanex, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in May, 2013
very close to the beach, clean and close to good places to eat

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Review of House of the Rising Sun

Paul H. from New Castle, PA recommends this property
Stayed 14 days in Sep, 2012
Need screens on sliding deck doors.
Internet was unreliable. No wireless.
Property was enjoyable.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

First time to OBX

Grater C. from NC, 28607 recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Sep, 2012
Great trip and area. House was a pretty "lived in" but fine- not sure about rates. Good location. Would consider a house purchase in the future.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

House of the Rising Sun - JRP

Joseph P. from Stanford, CT recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2012
Really loved the house....would have been nice to have some deck furniture so that we could sit and enjoy the beach view. I'd say this would prevent me from renting this house again because we didn't enjoy the decks as much as we'd have liked to. Also, there were some really dirty green chairs that were used for painting that should be thrown out.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition