Outer Banks, North Carolina
carolina shores logo

WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky


973 Lighthouse Drive, Corolla
Bedrooms: 4Baths: 3 fullSleeps: 10City: CorollaArea: Oceanfront Turn Day: Fri
Check Availability
initMessage('0',''); initButtonMessage('Select Arrival');
<< <
 
 > >>
January 2018
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
       
February 2018
S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728   
       
 Arrival    Departure
to
Reset Dates
  • Property Photo
  • Twelve Month Availability View
WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky
WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky -
WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky WH973- Mother Earth Father Sky
initMessage('0',''); initButtonMessage('Select Arrival');
January 2018
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
       
February 2018
S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728   
       
March 2018
S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
       
April 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
       
May 2018
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
       
June 2018
S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
       
July 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
       
August 2018
S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
       
September 2018
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
October 2018
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
       
November 2018
S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
       
December 2018
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
Calendar Key
      Unavailable.       Available.
      Depature Only       Arrival Only.
      Call for availability       User Selected Dates
  • General Info
  • Amenities
  • Rates
  • Reviews
  • Q/A
  • Map
Mother Earth Father Sky is the name of the first novel in Sue Harrison's Carver Trilogy and was chosen as among the best books, for young adults, by the American Library Association.

But this Mother Earth Father Sky is a spectacular oceanfront home with four lovely decks, four beautiful bedrooms (two of which are master suites), basketball goal, high speed internet and cable television. Wish upon a shining star while relaxing your cares in the six person hot tub or the private swimming pool. You'll love the outstanding panoramic views from two floors of sparkling glass windows.

Let the worries of weekend traffic just melt away. Because Mother Earth Father Sky is a Friday to Friday rental allowing you to spend more time enjoying the beach and less time sitting in the car. Rover is a welcomed guest too!

PROPERTY BEDDING: 2 QUEENS, 4 TWINS, 1 DAYBED WITH TRUNDLE IN LOFT.

TOP LEVEL:
Master with Queen and Bath with Shower,
Master with Queen and Bath with Shower,
Loft with Daybed and Trundle (Sleeps 2).


MID LEVEL:
Kitchen,
Dining Area,
Two Living Rooms,
Bedroom with Twins,
Bedroom with Twins,
Full Hall Bath,
Laundry Closet with Washer and Dryer,
Hot Tub on Deck.


GROUND LEVEL:
Dog Pen/Kennel outside under home.


THE PRIVATE POOL IS 12X27. THE POOL DEPTH IS 3'6" TO 5'6".

10% Active/Retired Military Discount, 10% Police Firefighter and EMS Discount, 10% Repeat Renter Discount

Linens

Guest Linens $174 Plus Tax

Amenities

  • Internet Access
  • Dog Friendly
  • Keyless Entry
  • 2 DVDs
  • 3 TVs
  • Board Games
  • Can Opener
  • Charcoal Grill
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Covered Decks
  • Dishwasher
  • Footwash Station
  • Gas Fireplace (Off-Season Only)
  • Highspeed Internet Access
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Private Beach Access
  • Screened-In Porch
  • Sun Decks
  • Variety of Pool Furn./Tables
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Hot Tub
  • Basketball Goal
  • Washer/Dryer
  • 2 Living Rooms
  • Basketball Goal
  • Book Library
  • CD Player
  • Children Books
  • Cookware
  • Deck Furniture
  • Dog Pen under house
  • Friday
  • Gas Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Ocean View
  • Parking
  • Private Pool
  • Smoking Allowed on Decks Only
  • Telephone
  • Video Library
  • Whalehead Beach
  • Private Pool
  • Partial Week Rentals (mini vacations)
  • Central A/C
  • 2 Zone Central AC/Heat
  • Blender
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Coffee Maker
  • County Water
  • Direct Beach Access
  • Enclosed Outside Shower
  • Full Kitchen
  • Hammock
  • Ice Maker
  • Oceanfront
  • Partial Weeks (ask about rates)
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove Top Burners
  • Toaster
  • Walkway to Beach

Security Deposit

$70.00 Accidental Damage Insurance or a $500.00 Refundable Security Deposit

Start Date End Date Weekly Average
05/04/18 05/10/18 $1,450
05/11/18 05/17/18 $1,450
05/18/18 05/24/18 $1,895
05/25/18 05/31/18 $2,295
06/01/18 06/07/18 $3,295
06/08/18 06/14/18 $3,495
06/15/18 06/21/18 $4,195
06/22/18 06/28/18 $4,195
06/29/18 07/05/18 $4,195
07/06/18 07/12/18 $4,195
07/13/18 07/19/18 $4,195
07/20/18 07/26/18 $4,195
07/27/18 08/02/18 $4,195
08/03/18 08/09/18 $4,195
08/10/18 08/16/18 $3,595
08/17/18 08/23/18 $3,595
08/24/18 08/30/18 $2,595
08/31/18 09/06/18 $2,595
09/07/18 09/13/18 $1,695
09/14/18 09/20/18 $1,695
09/21/18 09/27/18 $1,650
09/28/18 10/04/18 $1,650
10/05/18 10/11/18 $1,650
10/12/18 12/31/18 $1,150

View All Reviews

Mother Earth Father Sky Review

Carlo C. from Churchville, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2017
Family vacation was enjoyable

Manager Response

Carlo, Thank you so much for staying with Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals! We hope to see you in 2018

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Two Weeks of Relaxation

Jill B. from Aldie, VA recommends this property
Stayed 14 days in Aug, 2017
We are return renters and decided to stay for two weeks this year instead of one. It was just what we needed. Only minor maintenance issues which were all addressed during the stay. The house has a lot of extras others do not (pool toys, board games, books, lots of pots and pans, etc) which help reduce what we had to pack and bring with us. We always leave something behind for the next visitors to enjoy as well. (This time we left the book "Mother Earth Father Sky".) Our favorite visitor is "Casper" the crab who lives under the deck by the pool, but we also saw deer grazing along the dune and huge swarms of dragonflies. This is the perfect house for a smaller family who just want to get away from it all... with their dog(s). :)

Manager Response

Dear Jill, Thank you for the awesome review of our property WH973 MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY! The homeowner works really hard to make sure the home is stocked with all the things you may need while here. They deserve all the credit for that. The deer are amazing out by the home! We will see you in 2018! Thank you! Carolina Shores

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Great Family Vacation

Sheryl B. from Rochester, NY recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2017
I took my son, daughter-in-law and 5 grandchildren for a week at the ocean. The house was in a great location. Would have liked my own walkway from the house, but the beach access was only a house away. Everyone loved the place. Neat and clean.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Hidden Gem

A Guest from Lancaster, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2017
This was the third year staying at the house. It's not the "fanciest" house, but the location is great and it has a pool. I will be staying again.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

So glad we did

Amy O. from round hill, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in May, 2017
We rented the house in early spring and included our son-in-law, daughter, and granddaughter. We were the first guests of the season. While the house was ready for us, plenty tidy and clean, we were beset with numerous visits by the owner and repair guys for various things. That was a bit frustrating.
Presuming all those items got taken care of for later season renters, I think you'll find the house a comfortable value.
The kitchen is the focal point of the first floor and is more confined in space than pictured. Not a lot of storage for food stuffs, though, its fantastically stocked for cookware and such.
We needed our own baby gates to ensure our two-year-old didn't try for the winding stairs or loft stairs, but we planned ahead for that.
Two master suites upstairs were nice.
We made good use of the jacuzzi and grill. It was too cool and early in the season to use the pool.
The house sits right on the dune line. The good news: the dune is in excellent health (although, you'd be a better steward to walk down one house and hit the beach using the boardwalk rather than the path on the dune attached to the house). The bad news: the dune is high enough, that from the first floor, you can't see the ocean. In fact, its a bit a stretch from the upstairs, too. But, you can hear it!
We appreciated the Friday to Friday rental and our dog was part of the week and we were grateful for that.

Manager Response

Dear Amy Sounds like you had a great time at MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY! We do apologize for it taking to the last minute to get everything ready for your stay. I will share your concern with the homeowner. I'm delighted you found the home clean and welcoming and we would love to see you again in the future.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Hit the Spot!

Jill B. from Aldie, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2016
MEFS is exactly the kind of place we'd been looking for. Being a smaller family with a smaller budget and a dog makes it challenging to find a house that is oceanfront. This house is quirky and "cozy", and we loved it. Perhaps the best aspect is how much "stuff" has been provided and/or left behind. We could have packed 1/3 as much (pans, blankets, hand soap, games, etc). Can't wait to go back!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Another wonderful year!

A Guest from Lancaster, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2016
As I said last year, it may not be the fanciest house on the beach, but it is a great little house with an excellent location! It needs a couple of updates but nothing that would make me stay away. The only thing I really wish it had was a walkway over the dune but the boardwalk is one house over so it was not bad - especially since we used a service to set up umbrellas and chairs each day. I am going back next year!

Manager Response

Dear Rebecca, We are so happy you had a amazing vacation at MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY! This is our most popular oceanfront vacation home and the brand new pool makes it that much more fun! I just wish you could meet the homeowner, she is so much fun and really work so hard maintaining this vacation jewel. We'll see you next summer!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Ups and Downs

Russ P. from Woodbridge, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Sep, 2015
Overall pretty good but I never saw the wind blow so hard for so many days. It even blew out a couple screen panels which we replaced but maybe blew out again. It had a pretty good floor plan but the house needs some updating and could use a walkway to the beach instead of a dune path which is too hard for young kids and elderly folks. The pool and hot tub were nice. The view from the main floor was just of the dunes--couldn't see the beach. The deck had some boards and nails coming loose.

Manager Response

Dear Russ, Thank you for taking the time to share how your stay was at WH973-MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY. We will pass your suggestions along to the homeowner and notify the right department of the things we can fix! Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals hopes to see you again next year!!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Idyllic Setting

A Guest from Farmington, WV recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Sep, 2015
I am in my 70s while the rest of our family group ranged in age from 3 months to 45 years. I enjoyed the time I spent here. Corolla is a beautiful town near the upper end of the Outer Banks of NC not far from the Virginia border. It was nice for us all to be together while sharing a living space for a week enjoying the ocean waves, pool, hot tub and grilling seafood and steaks at our seashore home as well as driving to the wonderful restaurants in the Tim Buck II shopping center a short distance south of this location. While here we also enjoyed the off-road wild horse safari in the 4WD beach access area, the Currituck Lighthouse and watching the sunset across the bay while part of our group kayaked in the bay. Also kite flying was fun and just enjoying the solitude of the area in an unhurried way. It was truly an idyllic setting for our vacation. Please consider constructing a wooden walkway across the dune as many of our neighboring houses have particularly for older folks like me. Thank you for providing a home away from home for us.

Manager Response

Dear Faye, Thank you for taking the time to review MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY! We are delighted you had such a wonderful time at this highly popular OBX vacation home. Please come back and visit with us again in 2016.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Summer Vacation

A Guest from Charleston, SC recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2015
We have been coming to OBX with friends for many years. This is the first time we stayed at this house. It was very clean and comfortable, The only downfall was that there was no decking going to the beach. Going over the sand dune go old real fast. We ended up taking the public access which was 1 house over.

Manager Response

Dear Lisa, Thank you so much for taking the time to review MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY! Hopefully the homeowner will be permitted to build a private walkway to the ocean in the future. I know she will be delighted with how you found the home so clean and comfortable. I bet you enjoyed the new pool too! Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals looks forward to serving you again in 2016.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Hidden gem!

A Guest from Lancaster, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2015
The property may not be the "fanciest" on the beach but you cannot beat the location. You could spend the same money for a newer house a few blocks back but you will not get to sit on the deck at night and watch the stars and listen to the ocean. It was a quick walk to the boardwalk to the beach and nice to have the pool and beach so close if someone wanted to take a quick dip before dinner. I enjoyed myself quite a bit.

Manager Response

Dear Rebecca, Thank you for reviewing MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY! It souds like you had a wonderful vacation in this beautiful oceanfront vacation dream. The homeowner will be delighted with your comments and would love to have you back again next summer!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

June2015

Travis T. from Pembroke Pines, FL recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2015
The rental was a nice relaxing weekend. I just wanted to make note of a few things that need attention.
-The Microwave does not work, and the repair ppl never came. But we made due just fine.
-There are a few loose decking boards on the steps and porch that just need a few screws.
Other then that It was a great stay.

Manager Response

Dear Travis, Thank you for taking the time to review MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY for us! I apologize about the microwave and will look into it immediately. Like you, we want everything working just right. How did you enjoy the wonderful pool? It is almost brand new and we are so proud the homeowner worked so hard to make it happen. We can't wait to see you again next year!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Third Times a Charm

Diane S. from Roscoe, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2015
This was the second year we rented Mother Earth Father Sky. Love it there. We have already reserved for next year

Manager Response

Dear Diane, We are so happy you had yet another wondeful stay at MOTHER EARTH FATHER SKY! This oceanfront family vacation home is certainly delightful and all of us simpky love it. The homeowner is the best and is always working to make her property better and better. All of us, at Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals, look forward to serving you again next summer.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Family Vacation

A Guest from Falls Church, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2014
A great location and comfortable house. Enjoyed the pool very much. Great ocean views from upper decks, although dune interferes with view from main level.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Nice place

A Guest from Morristown, Nj recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2014
Mother Earth Father Sky met our vacation needs very well--two families with four adults, five kids and dogs. On the plus side, the interior living and sleeping spaces were roomy the beds were comfy, the pool and hot tub were great, the gas grill was handy, and the location couldn't be beat. It was also very clean. On the other hand, the kitchen could use an update and the dune in front of the house made it difficult (but not impossible) to walk directly to the beach (however the public walkway was only one house away). There also was no basketball hoop as advertised. All in all, great value and a great vacation.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

First stay in the Outer Banks

A Guest from New Windsor, MD recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2014
Location of house is great; view of sand dune is not. The house is a little dated and there is a lot of carpet even in kitchen and bathrooms. Spiral staircase is a concern for small children.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Everything was handled well. Have already recommended property to

Diane S. from Roscoe, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2014
Loved this rental. Have been to many places on vacation,but have reserved this place again for next year.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Good location for 4x4 beach access and Corolla Light / Duck areas

A Guest from Charleston, WV recommends this property
Stayed 6 days in Oct, 2012
I spent several minutes typing up a review but had no warning about the length of characters reaching max. So this is useless unfortunately and I am not wasting my time trying to fit a review in without knowing where I stand with character length. Highlights are good location, poor lighting, poor kitchen floor (dangerous), spiral staircase (pretty but also dangerous), nice views from equal masterbedrooms, hot tub and fireplace worked great. Would stay again. Better end description before I go too far without knowing .....(too bad)....

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition