Outer Banks, North Carolina
carolina shores logo

KD1905- SUMMER WIND


1905 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Kill Devil Hills
Bedrooms: 4Baths: 3 fullSleeps: 10City: Kill Devil HillsArea: Oceanfront Turn Day: Sat
Check Availability
initMessage('0',''); initButtonMessage('Select Arrival');
<< <
 
 > >>
April 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
       
May 2018
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
       
 Arrival    Departure
to
Reset Dates
  • Property Photo
  • Twelve Month Availability View
KD1905- SUMMER WIND
KD1905- SUMMER WIND -
KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND KD1905- SUMMER WIND
initMessage('0',''); initButtonMessage('Select Arrival');
April 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
       
May 2018
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
       
June 2018
S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
       
July 2018
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
       
August 2018
S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
       
September 2018
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
October 2018
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
       
November 2018
S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
       
December 2018
S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
January 2019
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
       
February 2019
S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
       
March 2019
S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
Calendar Key
      Unavailable.       Available.
      Depature Only       Arrival Only.
      Call for availability       User Selected Dates
  • General Info
  • Amenities
  • Rates
  • Reviews
  • Q/A
  • Map
Picturesque views and total relaxation will highlight your stay at SUMMER WIND.
This 4 bedroom oceanfront vacation home features a dune-top deck linking you directly with the pristine beaches of Kill Devil Hills. Its convenient location to the Avalon Pier, the Wright Brothers Memorial, shopping and dining make SUMMER WIND a great Outer Banks vacation home selection. You’ll love the oceanfront hot tub and the exceptional sunrises each morning of your stay.
A well behaved Fido is welcomed to join the fun!


PROPERTY BEDDING: 3 QUEENS, 2 BUNK SETS, 1 DOUBLE FUTON.


TOP LEVEL:
Living area, Futon
Full bathroom with Jacuzzi tub,
Dining area,
Wet bar,
Kitchen,
Covered porch,
Sun deck.


MID LEVEL:
Southeast bedroom with queen bed,
Full bathroom,
Northeast bedroom with queen bed,
Northwest bedroom with two sets of bunk beds,
Full bathroom (shower only),
Southwest bedroom with queen bed,
Access to oceanfront deck and walkway to beach,
Hot tub.


GROUND LEVEL:
Laundry closet.


OUTSIDE:
Enclosed outside shower.

10% Active/Retired Military Discount, 10% Repeat Renters Discount.

Linens

Guest Linens $177.00 Plus Tax

Amenities

  • Internet Access
  • Partial Week Rentals (mini vacations)
  • 2 Baby Gates
  • 3 DVDs
  • Can Opener
  • Coffee Maker
  • County Water
  • Digital Cable
  • Dunetop Deck
  • Footwash Station
  • Gates on All Decks
  • Hot Tub
  • Ironing Board
  • Non-Smoking Only
  • Oven
  • Picnic Table
  • Sun Decks
  • Walkway to Beach
  • WiFi Internet Access
  • Hot Tub
  • Washer/Dryer
  • 2 CD Players
  • 5 TVs
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Covered Decks
  • Direct Beach Access
  • Enclosed Outside Shower
  • Full Kitchen
  • Glass Top Stove Burners
  • Ice Maker
  • Jacuzzi Tub
  • Ocean View
  • Parking for 5 Vehicles
  • Refrigerator
  • Telephone
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Dog Friendly
  • Central A/C
  • 2 Stereo Systems
  • Blender
  • Central Air and Heat
  • Cookware
  • Deck Furniture
  • Dishwasher
  • Foosball Table
  • Gas Grill
  • Highchair
  • Iron
  • Microwave
  • Oceanfront
  • Partial Weeks (ask about rates)
  • Saturday
  • Toaster
  • Wet Bar

Security Deposit

$70.00 Accidental Damage Insurance or a Refundable $500.00 Security Deposit

Start Date End Date Weekly Average
05/05/18 05/11/18 $1,095
05/12/18 05/18/18 $1,195
05/19/18 05/25/18 $1,995
05/26/18 06/01/18 $1,995
06/02/18 06/08/18 $2,495
06/09/18 06/15/18 $3,495
06/16/18 06/22/18 $3,695
06/23/18 06/29/18 $3,695
06/30/18 07/06/18 $3,695
07/07/18 07/13/18 $3,695
07/14/18 07/20/18 $3,695
07/21/18 07/27/18 $3,695
07/28/18 08/03/18 $3,695
08/04/18 08/10/18 $3,695
08/11/18 08/17/18 $3,395
08/18/18 08/24/18 $3,295
08/25/18 08/31/18 $2,495
09/01/18 09/07/18 $2,495
09/08/18 09/14/18 $1,395
09/15/18 09/21/18 $1,295
09/22/18 09/28/18 $1,195
09/29/18 10/05/18 $1,195
10/06/18 10/12/18 $1,195
10/13/18 12/31/18 $995

View All Reviews

CHRISTMAS BREAK

Stephen S. from Richmond, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Dec, 2017
We stayed in Summer Wind during Christmas week for a needed beach break! The ocean view from this home is spectacular, both from the open living room and bedrooms. The private beach access was one of the best features of this home, really enjoyed by our dog. It got cold during that week, but that did not diminish our stay, HVAC worked well, and we were still able to enjoy the hot tub. This home is spacious and comfortable, and clean upon our arrival. Wifi and Direct TV in every room adds to the comfort and organization of this home. Convenient to shopping and grocery stores. We would recommend this property to anyone!

Manager Response

Dear Stephen, Thank you for the wonderful review of SUMMER WIND! Summer Wind is by far one of our most popular vacation homes and you can easily tell why- oceanfront, hot tub, clean and spacious! Please book this one early as it fills up fast!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Great place to stay.

Betty F. from Cross Junction, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Oct, 2017
As before, staying here was wonderful. It's beautiful and super dog friendly. We were also blessed with great weather. Love this place.

Manager Response

Betty, We are thrilled to know you and your group had a wonderful time, we love KD1905 SUMMER WIND just as much as you do! The views are fantastic and you are just a short distance from all the fun the Outer Banks has to offer. We hope to assist you again in 2018

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Great House and Great Spot

Lewis D. from King George, VA recommends this property
Stayed 14 days in Oct, 2017
We notice that the owner has taken pains to update the décor and wall art. The fact that he/she cares is evident. I wish that all lodging providers were as good!

Manager Response

Dear Lewis, Thank you so much for your review of SUMMER WIND! This homeowner is deeply involved in her property and is always looking for ways for her guests to have a more pleasant stay. She is one in a million and we love her! We can't wait to see you again next year!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

LOve this Place !

Yanic L. from Fredericksburg, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Sep, 2017
Fabulous house, great view and location ! PLUS, the staff at Carolina Shores are a PLEASURE to deal with !!

Manager Response

Yanic, Thank you so much for the raving review of our property KD1905 SUMMER WIND and also Carolina Shores staff. We pride ourselves in being the best and work very hard to keep our guest happy! We look forward to seeing you in 2018! Thank you Carolina Shores

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Great house in a great location

Christopher S. from New Bern,, NC recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2017
The house is well laid out, with a large and very functional top floor kitchen/living area and full bath (although the hottub/shower is a little odd). The four BR's on the lower living area are adequate size and comfortable, with two full baths and ceiling fans in all rooms. The laundry is below this, and a large storage closet outside with grill and lots of beach paraphernalia. The view of the beach and ocean from the living room is awesome! There is a hot tub on the deck, which we did not use.
We had some issues during our stay, which Carolina shores (esp Penny) handled with grace and efficiency. Many Thanks. My only complaint is with HomeAway, which now charges $200 IN ADDITIOON to Carolina Shores' reservatio fee of $125. This is new, and I think excessive. Will not use HomeAway in the future.

Manager Response

Dear Christopher Thank you for the wonderful review of SUMMER WIND. All of us are so happy you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you again next summer.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Perfect beach house. We loved everything about it.

Michael L. from Johnstown, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2017
This was a perfect location and a perfect house. Love the location to the beach. We had two dogs with with us and it was definitely set up for them. Loved the gates. Family had a wonderful time it was a beautiful week. Can't wait to come back again.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Great week on the Outer Banks

Paul C. from Cary, NC recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2017
Our vacation was great. The house was beautiful and location was very convenient. Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals made the check in and check out a breeze.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Perfect vacation home

kathee S. from McMurray, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2017
Loved this house. Was perfect for us, my dad, my grown children. Very clean, great location, would definitely rent here again!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Best House on the Beach

Sandie H. from Pomfret, MD recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2017
Absolutely love returning to this house for our summer vacation each year. Seen so many upgrades to the house over the years and appreciate chatting with the owner time to time too. Love this place!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Outstanding!

Betty F. from Cross Junction, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Nov, 2016
So wonderful. Perfect for us and our two dogs. So happy that people rent to dog owners. We are very responsible dog owners and understand why people do NOT rent to dog owners. My one elderly dog is blind. I had explained the to Chelsea at Carolina Vacation Rentals. She suggested thus house that totally worked for him and us.

Manager Response

Dear Betty, We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation! We love assisting guests with four legged friends! See you next year.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Fun family vacations!

A Guest from BANNER ELK, NC recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Nov, 2016
Perfect house for our family and dog. It was off season so things were super quiet and we had the beach pretty much all to ourselves. Kitchen was especially well equipped. This was soon after Hurricane Mathew so there was an unusual amount of sand blown onto the walkways and decks but that was no big deal.

Manager Response

Dear Jamie, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The off season does have it's advantages! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. As always, don't hesitate to let us know if you're visiting again soon. Our staff is always ready to assist you with anything. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Summer Wind

A Guest from Yorktown, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2016
Owner was most helpful with a request we made for the week. Great location and lovely home.

Manager Response

Dear Sylvia, Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to let our owner know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We are always pleased to be your second home when you're vacationing on the Outer Banks, NC. See you next year!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Our Favorite Beach Rental

Sandie H. from Pomfret, MD recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2016
Been renting this home over 5 years and have always had a wonderful stay, as this home has all we need and conveniently located to all the area restaurants and stores we enjoy visiting! PS: The property owner is also a Wonderful person!!!

Manager Response

Dear Sandie, We couldn't agree more that the homeowner is an outstanding person! She works so hard all year to make this property as comfortable as possible. I know she is delighted you have returned year after year! Thank you so much for your kind words and all of us look forward to seeing you again next year!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Summer Wind blew us away

William L. from Girard, OH recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2016
6 adults and 2 teenage kids stayed in the house. PLENTY of room for everyone. Great experience overall! Beds were a bit small (Full size, not the Queens as advertised). And no "private" bathrooms. 4 bedrooms and 2 baths on one floor to be shared and 1 bathroom upstairs off of the living area. Nice, new appliances, large living are and large dining table. But the best thing is it's LOCATION! Loved the 2-level deck and the hot tub under the stars. Also, very nice to have the Jolly Roger so close and convenient.

Manager Response

Dear William, SUMMER WIND blows us away too! We are delighted you found this home as magical as we do. I went and re-measure the queens beds this week and found them all to be the standard queen bed size (60" wide by 80" long). There is a manufacturer who makes a "Super Queen Bed" that is 6 inches wider- maybe that is what you have at home? But what it really comes down to is how fabulous the views are from this great OBX vacation home. Please come back and see us again real soon!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

KD1905

A Guest from Poquoson, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Sep, 2015
Very good overall (I already sent an email)

Manager Response

Dear Emery, Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals is delighted that you had a wonderful experience in SUMMER WIND!! Hope to see you again in 2016.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

OBX Vacation

A Guest from Bristol, CT recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2015
Relaxing and great week

Manager Response

Dear Kevin, Thank you for the review of SUNMER WIND. Isn't this a super oceanfront vacation home? We all love t! Please come back and visit with us at Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals again soon!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Fantastic Family Week!

A Guest from Palos Heights, IL recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2015
Loved the location, area & amenities of the home. Awesome views from the abundant deck space. Great space and function. The house itself could use some updating of the interior space.

Manager Response

Dear Tami, Thank you for the wonderful review of SUMMER WIND. We are so happy you had a great OBX vacation. All of us at Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals look forward to seeing you again next summer.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Beach Time

Heather U. from Richmond, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2015
It was terrific!

Manager Response

Dear Heather, We are glad to hear the SUMMER WIND was terrific!! Carolina Shores hopes to see you again in 2016.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Great stay with minor issues

A Guest from Haymarket, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2015
We had a very nice time at Summer Wind during our July stay. The location was nice, Jolly Roger Restuarant was across the street with great breakfast and dinners. K-mart was in walking distance for any needed purchases. Mini golf and ice cream are a very short drive. The house is in great condition with a nice layout. The decks are wonderful with a new hot tub and a nice beach access. If you have small children or dogs there are gates on the decks. The house is three houses away from a public beach access, but the beach behind our house was empty all week. The only issues we had were the cleanliness of the house keeping and the contents in kitchen were a mess. Over all we highly recommend this beach house.

Manager Response

Dear Lee, Thank you for taking the time to review SUMMER WIND. Also thank you for your thoughts and comments that I will gladly share with our staff. Getting feedback like this can only help us do a better job for you in the future. Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals looks forward to serving you again next summer.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Our #1 Beach Rental

Sandie H. from Pomfret, MD recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2015
Always love this house, has all we need for a perfect weeks vacation, we call it our home away from home. I've also gotten to talk with the owner who is so kind! Look forward to a return trip! Just as long as the price stays as good too! Perfect location and beach area too!

Manager Response

Dear Sandie, We are pleased to hear you enjoy'd yet another year at SUMMER WIND!! The owners as well as Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals are looking forward to seeing you again!!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Great May Family Vacation!

Kevin W. from Baton Rouge, LA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in May, 2015
Great time getting family together who have spread across country due to jobs, etc. Thankful for wonderful weather and a great place to stay!

Manager Response

Dear Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to review SUMMER WIND! The credit really goes to this homeowner who is always looking for ways to make her home look and feel more comfortable. She is truly dedicated to your comfort. We look forward to serving you again during your next OBX getaway.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Summer

Virginia E. from Marienville, PA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Dec, 2014
Summer Wind is the greatest! We are repeat renters and always enjoy our time there. Perfect location next to ocean, Jolly Rodger's and Kill Devil Custard. Big enough so everyone has their own space, yet we are under one roof so we can have family time.

Manager Response

Dear Virginia, It was great having you as our guest. Summer Wind is certainly a great home which we love as well.

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Summer Wind

A Guest from Simbury, CT recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jul, 2014
Right on beach as discribed very kid and pet friendly. Would rent again easy to get around town,

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

Love This House!

Sandie H. from Pomfret, MD recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2014
Perfect as always! Been renting this house for a several years now and love it! Can't wait to return! Also has had some new updates which make it even better! Love this house!!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

great beach house with a wonderful view!

Michelle H. from Newport News, VA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2014
WE love this beach house and enjoyed spending our first week of summer there. Love being able to walk across the street to the Jolly Roger!

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition

great week

David T. from Mount Savage, MD recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2014
we had a great week second year in this house I think the price increase was to hiogh

Overall Satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Location
Property Condition